Florida Baseball 2012 Schedule Released

The Florida baseball team should be preseason number one, but they will be tested early and often. Thursday morning, the Gators released their schedule for the 2012 schedule. It's going to be a tough one, with exactly half of their 56 game schedule against teams who made it to the NCAA Tournament last year. Florida will host 35 games in the friendly confines of McKethan Stadium. The Gators went 34-7 last year at the Mac. UF head coach and 2011 Coach of the Year Kevin O'Sullivan on this years schedule (via GatorZone):

We've put together a very challenging 2012 schedule. This schedule should hopefully prepare us for another postseason run. We are looking forward to the upcoming season and are counting on our Gator fans' continued support.

Florida starts the season at home for the 12th straight year and for the 24th time in 26 years. It won't be an easy start, however, with college baseball powerhouse Cal State Fullerton traveling across the nation to play the Gators in the opening series. Also highlighting the Gators schedule are mid-week games with Florida State - one in Gainesville, one in Tallahassee, and one in Jacksonville. Florida also plays North Florida in a mid-week home and home series. Here's the full schedule (via GatorZone):

DATE OPPONENT SITE TIME (ET) VIDEO TV RADIO RESULT/DETAILS
Fri, Feb 17 Cal State Fullerton Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Feb 18 Cal State Fullerton Gainesville, FL 4:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Feb 19 Cal State Fullerton Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, Feb 21 Bethune-Cookman Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Wed, Feb 22 UCF Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Feb 24 William & Mary Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Feb 25 William & Mary Gainesville, FL 4:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Feb 26 William & Mary Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Mar 2 Miami (Fla.) Coral Gables, FL TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Mar 3 Miami (Fla.) Coral Gables, FL TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Mar 4 Miami (Fla.) Coral Gables, FL TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, Mar 6 Florida Atlantic Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Wed, Mar 7 Florida A&M Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Mar 9 Florida Gulf Coast Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Mar 10 Florida Gulf Coast Gainesville, FL 4:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Mar 11 Florida Gulf Coast Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, Mar 13 Florida State Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Mar 16 Vanderbilt * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Mar 17 Vanderbilt * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Mar 18 Vanderbilt * Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, Mar 20 Samford Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Wed, Mar 21 Samford Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Mar 23 South Carolina * Columbia, SC TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Mar 24 South Carolina * Columbia, SC TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Mar 25 South Carolina Columbia, SC TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, Mar 27 Florida State Jacksonville, FL TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Mar 30 Ole Miss * Oxford, MS TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Mar 31 Ole Miss * Oxford, MS TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Apr 1 Ole Miss * Oxford, MS TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, Apr 3 North Florida Jacksonville, FL 6:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Apr 6 LSU * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Apr 7 LSU * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Apr 8 LSU * Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, Apr 10 Florida State Tallahassee, FL 6:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Apr 13 Tennessee * Knoxville, TN TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Apr 14 Tennessee * Knoxville, TN TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Apr 15 Tennessee * Knoxville, TN TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, Apr 17 Georgia Southern Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Apr 20 Georgia * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Apr 21 Georgia * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Apr 22 Georgia * Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, Apr 24 USF Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Wed, Apr 25 Bethune-Cookman Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, Apr 27 Arkansas * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, Apr 28 Arkansas * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, Apr 29 Arkansas * Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, May 4 Kentucky * Lexington, KY TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, May 5 Kentucky * Lexington, KY TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, May 6 Kentucky * Lexington, KY TBA     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, May 11 Mississippi State * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, May 12 Mississippi State * Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sun, May 13 Mississippi State * Gainesville, FL 1:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Tue, May 15 North Florida Gainesville, FL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Thu, May 17 Auburn * Auburn, AL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Fri, May 18 Auburn * Auburn, AL 7:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 
Sat, May 19 Auburn * Auburn, AL 2:00 pm     GRN/GatorZone 

The Gators return 2011 SEC Player of the Year Mike Zunino, 2011 Freshman Pitcher of the year Karsten Whitson, All-SEC selections Nolan Fontana, Brian Johnson, Hudson Randall, and Preston Tucker. O'Sullivan also brings in his fourth straight top-10 recruiting class, filled with 13 new Gators. 

After the final out in last year's College World Series Final, where Florida lost to SEC foe South Carolina, many predicted this years teams to win 60-plus games. The Gators have the talent to do it, but will definitely be tested in and out of conference.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Alligator Army

You must be a member of Alligator Army to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Alligator Army. You should read them.

Join Alligator Army

You must be a member of Alligator Army to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Alligator Army. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker