clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 All-SEC basketball awards: Billy Donovan named Coach of the Year, Erik Murphy on first team

The SEC champions cleaned up in the SEC's all-conference honors.


After winning his fifth SEC championship, Billy Donovan finally has as many SEC Coach of the Year honors as national titles. Donovan was announced as the SEC's Coach of the Year on Tuesday, and Florida placed six players on various All-SEC teams.

Erik Murphy led those selections as Florida's only selection to the All-SEC first team, making 2012-13 the third straight season that Florida has had a player named a first-team all-SEC performer.

Donovan's Coach of the Year honor is his second in three years, and just his second in 17 years at Florida, despite a streak of 20-win seasons that reached 15 years in 2012-13.

Kenny Boynton, Mike Rosario, and Patric Young were all named to the all-SEC second team; it is the third all-SEC selection for Boynton, who was named to the second team in 2010-11 and the first team in 2011-12, and the first selection for both Rosario and Young.

Florida tied its all-time high with the four All-SEC selections, a number it notched for the first time in 2007, when the Gators placed Corey Brewer, Al Horford, and Joakim Noah on the first team and Lee Humphrey on the second team. No other team earned more than two 2012-13 All-SEC selections.

Young and Scottie Wilbekin were both also named to the SEC's All-Defensive Team, and Young, who carries a 3.38 GPA as a telecom major, repeated as the SEC's Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Florida players have been awarded five SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards since 2005-06, with Humphrey winning back-to-back honors in 2005-06 and 2006-07 and Ray Shipman taking the award in 2009-10.

And, finally, Michael Frazier II was named to the SEC's All-Freshman team, following Bradley Beal's selection to the team in 2011-12.