clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida vs. Kentucky: Gators' depth chart led by Tyler Murphy

After almost four years as a backup, Tyler Murphy is now officially Florida's starting quarterback.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The Florida Gators have released their depth chart for Saturday's game with Kentucky. The most important change is the one we knew they had to make: In the wake of Jeff Driskel's season-ending leg injury, Tyler Murphy is now the Gators' starting quarterback.

Offensive Depth Chart

Position First Team Second Team Third Team
Quarterback Tyler Murphy Skyler Morhninweg
Running back Matt Jones Mack Brown
Fullback Hunter Joyer Gideon Ajagbe
X receiver Quinton Dunbar Demarcus Robinson
Z receiver Solomon Patton Ahmad Fulwood Chris Thompson
F receiver Trey Burton Mike McNeely
Tight end Clay Burton Tevin Westbrook
Left tackle D.J. Humphries Max Garcia
Left guard Max Garcia Trip Thurman
Center Jonotthan Harrison Kyle Koehne
Right guard Jon Halapio Kyle Koehne Ian Silberman
Right tackle Tyler Moore Trenton Brown

Other than Murphy and Mornhinweg moving up in Driskel's absence, the only change on offense is the deletion of Colin Thompson, who was listed as the third-string tight end last week, from the released depth chart. Of note: Latroy Pittman, listed on the Florida depth chart for Toledo as the Gators' third-string Z receiver before his three-game suspension was announced, is not listed on the depth chart here.

Defensive Depth Chart

Position First Team Second Team
End Jonathan Bullard Bryan Cox, Jr.
Nose Leon Orr Damien Jacobs
Tackle Dominique Easley Darious Cummings
Buck Dante Fowler, Jr. Alex McCalister
Sam Ronald Powell Darren Kitchens
Mike Antonio Morrison Michael Taylor
Will Neiron Ball Darrin Kitchens
RCB Loucheiz Purifoy Vernon Hargreaves III
LCB Marcus Roberson Vernon Hargreaves III
Safety Jaylen Watkins Marcus Maye
Safety Cody Riggs Jabari Gorman
Nickel Brian Poole Vernon Hargreaves III
Dime Marcus Maye Cody Riggs

No changes were made on defense, though with Poole's ineligibility for the first half of the Kentucky game after being ejected for a targeting penalty against Tennessee, Hargreaves is even more a de facto starter than he has already been for his first month as a Gator.

Special Teams Depth Chart

Position First Team Second Team
Kicker Austin Hardin Brad Phillips
Punter Kyle Christy Johnny Townsend
Kick returner Solomon Patton Loucheiz Purifoy
Punt returner Vernon Hargreaves III Marcus Roberson
Holder Tyler Murphy Kyle Crofoot
Long snapper Drew Ferris Kyle Crofoot

Changes abound on special teams: Freshman Townsend replaces walk-on Justin Vogel at second-string punter, a likely message to the surprisingly inconsistent Christy; Hargreaves becomes Florida's starting punt returner despite not being listed in the first three strings last week, while Roberson slips to second-string and Trey Burton and Poole are removed from the depth chart; Purifoy is listed as the second-string kick returner for the first time in 2013, replacing Valdez Showers, despite suffering a thigh contusion on his lone kick return against Tennessee and being held out of the game after that return, likely because of the injury.

What do you think of this depth chart? Are you (once again) surprised by Hargreaves being everywhere on it? Worried about Mornhinweg as Murphy's backup? Surprised Florida's been able to remain immutable on defense? Let's discuss it in the comments.


Andy Hutchins is Alligator Army's managing editor. Follow Alligator Army on Twitter and Facebook.