clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida Gators track and field heads to College Station, Texas for SEC Indoor Championships

Will the Gators be able to capture their first SEC Indoor Championship since 2011 (men's) and 2012 (women's) this weekend in College Station, Texas?


The Florida Gators' indoor track and field teams will be in College Station, Texas this weekend as Texas A&M University will be hosting the 2014 SEC Indoor Championships at the Gilliam Indoor Track and Field Stadium for the next three days.

The No. 2 ranked men's and women's teams will be vying to claim a title that has alluded both programs the last couple of years. The last time a Gators track and field team won the SEC Championship was in 2012 when the women's team took home top honors in Lexington, Kentucky. As always though, that task will be extremely difficult to achieve as the SEC is as loaded at the top as it always is, if not just a little bit more.

The men's team will attempt to dethrone the the No. 1-ranked Arkansas Razorbacks as well as hold off the No. 3-ranked Texas A&M Aggies on their home track. If you're watching the polls, the Gators are currently around 50-points behind the Razorbacks and are about one-point ahead of the Aggies.

The women's team on the other hand are the top-ranked SEC program and lead the Aggies and Razorbacks in the polls by by about three and 20-points respectively.

With events scheduled to begin today with the women's pentathlon at 2:00 p.m. ET and the first few events of the men's heptathlon beginning shortly thereafter. All events are scheduled to close with the 4x400m relay (as all track meets typically do) around 6:00 p.m. ET on Saturday.

You'll be able to catch all the action courtesy of ESPN3 and Texas A&M throughout the competition at various scheduled times. 12Man.TV will be broadcasting all the live action in HD video when ESPN3 doesn't control the broadcasting rights. Unfortunately though, Thursday's action will be available only on 12thMan.TV.

FlashResults will once again be the official timekeepers of the meet and will be post results online as soon as they are finished.