clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida, Florida State extend annual series through 2018

Florida and Florida State will continue to beat the hell out of each other on the field for at least a few more years.

Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

Florida and Florida State have officially renewed their annual series through 2018, Florida announced through GatorZone on Thursday.

The renewal is a four-year contract, and comes into effect after the expiration of the current contract, which ends after 2014. Florida will host the 2015 and 2017 meetings between the two teams at The Swamp, while Florida State hosts Florida in 2016 and 2018.

Florida and Florida State have played annually since 1958, with Florida holding a 34-22-2 edge in the series, and have traditionally met in the final game of both teams' regular seasons.

With the SEC's expansion to 14 teams and the introduction of the College Football Playoff, there had been some worry that Florida would be made to sacrifice its series with FSU for a nine-game SEC schedule, but Florida has been adamant about keeping Florida State on its annual slate, and this announcement is just more proof that the two teams will keep their rivalry an annual one for as long as they can.