clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida's Scottie Wilbekin named SEC Player of the Year, Billy Donovan named SEC Coach of the Year

Florida's domination of the SEC in 2014 extends to the league's end-of-year awards.

Rob Foldy

Florida swept five of the six 2014 SEC men's basketball end-of-season awards and had five selections to All-SEC teams, the league announced Tuesday.

It turns out that a team winning every SEC game it plays makes SEC coaches take notice.

Scottie Wilbekin was named SEC Player of the Year, Billy Donovan won SEC Coach of the Year, Patric Young won SEC Defensive Player of the Year and SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and Dorian Finney-Smith was named SEC Sixth Man of the Year. The only end-of-year award not given to a Florida player was SEC Freshman of the Year, which went, predictably, to Kentucky's Julius Randle.

Here's a table:

2014 SEC Men's Basketball Awards

Award Winner School
Player of the Year Scottie Wilbekin Florida
Coach of the Year Billy Donovan Florida
Defensive Player of the Year Patric Young Florida
Sixth Man of the Year Dorian Finney-Smith Florida
Scholar-Athlete of the Year Patric Young Florida
Freshman of the Year Julius Randle Kentucky

Wilbekin becomes just the second Florida player to be named SEC Player of the Year, joining 2011 SEC Player of the Year Chandler Parsons. Young is the first outright SEC Defensive Player of the Year in Florida history — Corey Brewer shared Defensive Player of the Year honors in 2007 — and the SEC's first three-time Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Donovan's SEC Coach of the Year honor is the third of his career, second consecutive, and third in four years. Finney-Smith is the first Gator named SEC Sixth Man of the Year since Chris Richard in 2007.

The five SEC end-of-year awards is a school record for Florida. Gators had previously claimed a school record two in 2007 (Richard as Sixth Man of the Year and Lee Humphrey as Scholar-Athlete of the Year) and 2011 (Parsons as Player of the Year and Donovan as Coach of the Year).

In addition to their other honors, Wilbekin, Young, and Casey Prather were all named to All-SEC teams. Wilbekin and Prather were named First Team All-SEC players, while Young was the Second Team All-SEC. Wilbekin and Young also made the conference's All-Defensive team for the second consecutive year.

Florida had no freshmen named to the SEC's All-Freshman team. Kasey Hill's injuries likely helped cost him the playing time he would have needed to make the cut.

Here are those tables.

2014 First Team All-SEC

Player Team
Trevor Releford Alabama
Scottie Wilbekin Florida
Casey Prather Florida
Julius Randle Kentucky
Johnny O'Bryant LSU
Jabari Brown Missouri
Jordan McRae Tennessee
Jarnell Stokes Tennessee

2014 Second Team All-SEC

Player Team
Bobby Portis Arkansas
Chris Denson Auburn
Patric Young Florida
Charles Mann Georgia
James Young Kentucky
Jordan Mickey LSU
Marshall Henderson Mississippi
Jarvis Summers Mississippi
Jordan Clarkson Missouri
Rod Odom Vanderbilt

2014 SEC All-Defensive Team

Player Team
Patric Young Florida
Scottie Wilbekin Florida
Willie Cauley-Stein Kentucky
Jordan Mickey LSU
Josh Richardson Tennessee

2014 SEC All-Freshman Team

Player Team
Shannon Hale Alabama
Bobby Portis Arkansas
Julius Randle Kentucky
James Young Kentucky
Jarell Martin LSU
Jordan Mickey LSU
Sindarius Thornwell South Carolina
Damian Jones Vanderbilt

Florida's record for All-SEC First and Second team selections in a season is four, established in 2007 and matched in 2013.