clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida's Jonathan Bullard, Vernon Hargreaves III named Bednarik Award semifinalists

Florida is one of two teams nationally with two semifinalists.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Florida's Jonathan Bullard and Vernon Hargreaves III were each named semifinalists for the 2015 Chuck Bednarik Award on Tuesday.

Bullard, a senior defensive end, and Hargreaves, a junior cornerback, were among 20 players selected as semifinalists for the honor, which is awarded to the nation's best defensive player.

Bullard has enjoyed a stellar senior season as a disruptive force on Florida's defensive line, tallying 10.5 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks. Hargreaves, renowned as one of the nation's best players, has four interceptions on the year.

Florida is one of just two schools nationally with two Bednarik semifinalists; Alabama's Reggie Ragland and A'Shawn Robinson also appear on the list.

No Florida player has ever won the Bednarik Award, with Jevon Kearse and Brandon Spikes coming closest as finalists for the award in 1998 and 2009, respectively. Hargreaves joins Spikes as only the second Florida player to be named a Bednarik semifinalist twice.

2015 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists

Kendell Beckwith, LSU
Andrew Billings, Baylor
Joey Bosa, Ohio State
Jon Bullard, Florida
Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State
Jeremy Cash, Duke
Su'a Cravens, USC
Myles Garrett, Texas A&M
Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida
Shaq Lawson, Clemson
Jourdan Lewis, Michigan
Tyler Matakevich, Temple
Carl Nassib, Penn State
Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
Emmanuel Ogbah, Oklahoma State
Reggie Ragland, Alabama
Jalen Ramsey, Florida State
A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama
Joe Schobert, Wisconsin
Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame