clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida could capture SEC East title on "Gators Heisman Day"

Fun with numbers!

Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

Florida Gators players have won three Heisman Trophies in the history of the award. Steve Spurrier did it first, in 1966, while wearing No. 11. Danny Wuerffel followed in 1996, with No. 7 on his jersey. And Tim Tebow won the Gators' most recent Heisman in 2007, wearing No. 15.

Saturday is November 7, 2015 — or 11-7-15, the first day that shortens to the numbers of Florida's three Heisman winners in chronological order in the American calendar system.

Florida noticed, and has christened the day "Gators Heisman Day":

And the SEC Network added the other obligatory note: Florida can clinch the SEC East on Saturday, too:

Of course, this means nothing: It's just a date that happens to produce a series of numbers in an order that won't repeat for 100 years. And only the chronological nature of tomorrow's date makes it different from July 15, 2011, and July 11, 2015, both of which featured all three numbers.

But, c'mon: This is cool.