clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida's Jonathan Bullard, Vernon Hargreaves, Jalen Tabor named to All-SEC First Team

Florida keeps minting All-SEC defenders.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Florida's Jonathan Bullard, Vernon Hargreaves, Jalen Tabor were all named to the 2015 All-SEC First Team on Tuesday, leading five Gators selected to the First and Second Teams selected by the conference's coaches.

Bullard was named to the first team at defensive lineman, with Hargreaves and Tabor each getting nods at defensive back, as the league opted largely to name players at position group rather than position. Antonio Morrison made the Second Team at linebacker, and was joined by punter Johnny Townsend.

For Hargreaves, it's a third consecutive appearance on the All-SEC First Team, following selections after his freshman and sophomore seasons. Morrison is making his second consecutive appearance on the Second Team. It's the first postseason All-SEC honor for the other three Gators.

Florida's three All-SEC first-teamers on defense are the school's most since 2009, when three Gators — Carlos Dunlap, Joe Haden, and Brandon Spikes — all made the coaches' First Team.

The Gators haven't had an offensive skill position player named to an All-SEC team since 2012, when running back Mike Gillislee was named to the All-SEC First Team by both the league's coaches and the Associated Press, and tight end Jordan Reed joined him on the AP's first team. Those two selections and Chris Rainey's first-team nod from the AP as an all-purpose player are the only honors for non-linemen from the Gators' offenses this decade.