clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida's Lauren Haeger named 2015 SEC Female Athlete of the Year

Another honor for the Haegbino.


Add another trophy to Lauren Haeger's already overstuffed case: The Florida Gators slugger-slash-ace was named the SEC's Female Athlete of the Year for the 2014-15 academic year on Thursday. Arkansas baseball player Andrew Benintendi won the corresponding Male Athlete of the Year.

Haeger, her coach, and the SEC's commissioner each offered comments in a statement.

"To be a part of the Gator softball team has truly been a privilege. Softball is a team sport and I am honored to receive this award on behalf of the Gator program. It has been a wonderful season to share with my teammates, coaches and all the Gator fans. I hope everyone who competed, coached or cheered the Gator softball team can take some pride in this award because all played a role this memorable season." – Gator senior Lauren Haeger

"It's an amazing accomplishment for Lauren (Haeger) to be named the Female Athlete of the Year in the SEC. It’s a tremendous honor for Lauren and all of her teammates who helped her achieve this award. This says a lot about the season she had and shows the overall importance of being a great player on a team that has a great year. We are very honored for the SEC to recognize Lauren and super proud of her and the great career she has had for the Gators." – Florida Head Coach Tim Walton

"Andrew and Lauren have competed at the highest level of collegiate athletics, and through their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence, have been successful in their endeavors. They are outstanding representatives of their universities and the SEC is proud to honor them for their accomplishments." - SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey

Haeger's win makes two straight SEC Female Athlete of the Year awards for Florida softball players: Gators ace Hannah Rogers won the award in 2014. Gators athletes have won 11 SEC Male or Female Athlete of the Year awards since Tracy Caulkins won the school's first such honor in 1984.

Haeger tips the balance of those titles back to the women: Florida's first four such awards went to female athletes, followed by five for male athletes (including two each for Danny Wuerffel and Tim Tebow), and now two straight for Rogers and Haeger.