clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tim Tebow, Jack Youngblood named to FWAA 75th Anniversary All-America Team

On a list of the greatest college football players ever, two of the greatest Gators make the cut.

Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Two Florida legends — quarterback Tim Tebow and defensive end Jack Youngblood — are on the Football Writers Association of America's 75th Anniversary All-America Team, designed to honor the greatest players in the history of college football.

Tebow, who won two national titles and a Heisman Trophy during his four-year Florida career, was selected as the team's second-team quarterback, behind Navy's Roger Staubach, and Youngblood, who would go on to become Florida's first Pro Football Hall of Famer, slotted into a third-team spot at one of two defensive end positions.

Candidates for the 75th Anniversary All-America Team were culled by a popular vote of FFWA membership in the spring; a "Blue Ribbon Committee" of FFWA bigwigs put together the finished product from there.

Only 10 schools have more selections to the 75th Anniversary All-America Team than Florida's two, and the Gators have just as many as Miami, Notre Dame, and UCLA.