clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chomping at Bits: Florida's Antonio Callaway named to 2016 Paul Hornung Award watch list

The award recognizes a versatile, high-performing player, which Callaway certainly is.

Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

Chomping at Bits comes stocked with the best Florida Gators links and news we can find, and some other stuff. Got a link you think we should check out? Email us at, subject line CAB, or find us on Twitter at @AlligatorArmy or on Facebook at

Callaway named to 2016 Paul Hornung Award watch list: Callaway, who is back on campus participating in classes and workouts but has not rejoined the Gators, and who was left off the media's All-SEC selections, was named to the watch list for the award, which recognizes versatile, high-level performers in major college football. (Will Pantages, Florida GatorsPalm Beach Post)

Florida tops CBS Sports' ranking of best football and basketball schools: The Gators are of course the only program with national titles in both sports this century. And plural titles at that. (Matt Norlander and Chip Patterson, CBS Sports)

Jalen Tabor is Florida's only first-team All-SEC preseason selection: Eight Gators were selected overall to this (mostly meaningless) list voted on by league media. (Edgar Thompson, Orlando Sentinel)

UF track and field members earn six medals at NACAC U23 Championships: Four Gators combined to earn six medals at the North America Central America Caribbean Under-23 Championship. Robin Reynolds and Shayla Sanders helped the United States' 4x100 relay team break a meet record. (Zach Dirlam, Florida Gators)

Sandra Gal becomes first Gator golfer to compete in Olympics: The former Gator qualified to compete in Rio for Team Germany. Gal is the first current or former Gator golfer to compete in the Olympics, as the 2016 games are the first Olympics to include golf in 112 years. (Dustin Ciraco, Florida Gators)

College football's most overachieving and underachieving coaches: Examining the actual wins vs. win expectation for head coaches with more than four years of experience since 2005. (Bill Connelly, Football Study Hall)

The comments are yours.